Youth Council


The Islamorada Youth Council was established by Resolution 13-10-81 and adopted by the Village Council on October 23, 2013. The committee was created to provide the youth of Islamorada with the opportunity to participate in the Village's decision-making process through recommendations to the Village Council regarding issues concerning the youth, as well as youth programs, projects, and activities.

Mission Statement

The Islamorada Youth Council is dedicated to giving students and young people a voice in the community as a citizens' advisory committee to the Village Council. By accurately representing the youth of Islamorada, we seek to put forth the needs and concerns of the youth to make the community a better place for everyone.

The Committee consists of ten (10) members, who are appointed by their school leadership and approved by the Village Council, and one staff liaison. Committee members meet at 4:00 pm on the fourth Tuesday of every month during the school year. The current committee is comprised of the following members:

Staff Liaison: Anne Onsgard

  • Riley Cooper
  • Kaitlyn Dickerson
  • Robert Dube
  • Kai Guth
  • Simon Gutierrez
  • Zane Rindom
  • Abbie Sargent
  • Olivia Sargent
  • Kaya Sena
  • Corley Smith

If you would like information regarding the Islamorada Youth Council, please contact staff liaison Email Anne Onsgard or 305-853-1685. If you are a resident of the Upper Florida Keys and would like to apply for appointment to this committee, please contact your school counselor for an application.