Near Shore Water Regulation Committee

Near Shore Water Regulation Citizens' Advisory Committee

The Near Shore Water Regulation Citizens' Advisory Committee was established by Resolution 01-02-04 and adopted by the Village Council on February 8, 2001. The creation of the committee was prompted when the Florida Legislature passed House Bill 1007. The passage of HB 1007 provided the Village with authorization to exercise its police powers and jurisdiction 1,200 feet into the tidals waters adjacent to its established corporate limits; extending to the abatement of nuisances, the enforcement of sanitary laws and regulations, the regulation of zoning and the suppression of crime. The Committee provides valuable citizen input to staff and Council regarding suggestions for near shore water improvements in safety, quality of life and environmental protection as well as methods to accomplish the suggested recommendations.

The Committee consists of ten (10) members who are appointed by the Village Council and one staff liaison. Committee members meet quarterly at 5:15 PM and may meet more frequently if needed. The current committee is comprised of the following members: 

Staff Liaison: Mark Thomasson
Elizabeth Jolin
Matt Bellinger (Vice Chair)
Emma Haydocy

Dianne Harbaugh
Larry Wren
Brian Lesko
Steve Leopold
Ted Wilson

If you would like information regarding the Near Shore Water Regulation Citizens' Advisory Committee, please contact staff liaison Mark Thomasson (Assistant Dockmaster PHY Marina) at or at 305-852-2381. If you are a resident of Islamorada and would like to apply for appointment to this, or any other committee, you may do so by downloading the Committee Application Form.